Women's Basketball Megathread

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Women's Basketball Megathread

The time has come to pay more attention here. Interst in the Women's program has been trending up for a while.

In the last two two recruiting cycles Katrina Merriweather and her staff have recruited a 2024 4 star scoring PG in Chloe Mann out of of Duncanville TX and a 2025 5 star guard in Dee Alexander out of Purcell Marian. Pair this with multiple visits from highly rated transfer players and I think this program should be headed back to the NCAA tournament pretty shortly.

I'd even be bold enough to say as of the date my posting this that Katrina Merriweather is out recruiting Wes Miller.
    Brent Wyrick
    92 Final Four Front Row
    @LobotC2DFW

Another addition to this thread is that Bev Obringer was just announced as an inductee into the Ohio Basketball HOF. Bev was the center on the women's team under Laurie Pirtle when I was a student. She's also in the UC HOF. The team Bev was on made the NCAA tourney at least once if memory serves. More details below.

https://gobearcats.com/news/2024/4/1...l-of-fame.aspx
    Brent Wyrick
    92 Final Four Front Row
    @LobotC2DFW

Comment

Wasn't Cheryl Cook on that team as well?
      Celebrating Cheryl "Cookie Monster" Cook - University of Cincinnati Athletics (gobearcats.com)

Comment

Is NIL money part of this recent recruiting success? It's amazing how much Caitlin Clark has changed exposure to the sport.

Comment

I think part of the problem with the AAC is it was hard to get excited for wins or the too many losses to unknown competitors. With UC rising up to and above the higher bar set in the Big 12, let's hope the increased interest translates to more attendance
          Red and Black are more of an Attitude than merely a color combination.

Intimidate! Dominate! Celebrate!

Comment

There is an article up on Cincinnati.com about top UC WBB players through the years